Las Vitaminas (figure it out…or learn español)

I’m going to tell it like it is. If you are one of those people who does not like taking vitamins, and/or forgets to take their vitamins all the time, and/or your new years resolutions usually includes “Take My Vitamins,” going vegetarian is probably not for you.

My suggestion would be for my Nutrition emphasis Vegetarian course at Chapman University or St. Mary’s Academy in Portland to have a section in the course on vitamins in general, but be careful to point out which vitamins are most-haves for vegetarians.

Vitamins are a huge part of the deal. Really, everyone including non-vegetarians should take a multi-vitamin everyday.  The multi-vitamin I like is One-A-Day Women’s.  If I had started taking vitamins as soon as I went vegetarian, I would have saved myself soooo much hassle.

Iron is a supplement that, as a vegetarian who does not receive the number one source of Iron (Meat), I take daily. I am going to talk more in depth about the ramifications of not having near enough iron in one’s system in a further post. I take 18 ml supplement once a day (now I take a normal amount, before I had to take a lot more, and it was honestly disgusting) easily bought at the grocery store in the vitamin department.

**suuper important to take your iron supplement with food, and do not take it with coffee or tea, this will block the absorption of iron. took iron for a month before learning this…….huge fail by me.

Another Vitamin that I take daily now is a B12 vitamin. This is again bought easily in the vitamin department at the grocery store. A 10 ml supplement once a day is great.

Lastly, I would say for not only vegetarians but everyone should take a calcium supplement once a day.

Just to review the Vegetarian Vitamin Shopping List:

–       One a Day Multi-Vitamin

–       Iron Supplement

–       B12 supplement

–       Calcium supplement

If you are looking for even more supplements suggested for vegetarians, I would look up essential fatty acids like omega 3. I take this supplement, but I know many vegetarians that have substantial essential fats in their diets from olive and canola oil and nuts and such. Just depends on what you like! Also, one of my favorite guides for vegetarian vitamins information is The Veg Health Guide. Thanks for reading !!

One Comment to “Las Vitaminas (figure it out…or learn español)”

  1. Erin,

    I love all of the information you provided in this post, the link to the veg health guide and also your tips about taking iron! Do they print that on the bottle? I love that you are a vegetarian and are blogging about the dangers, it gives you a lot of credibility!

    -Monika

Leave a comment